Industry News II

Fantastic Fest 2012 Announces The Fantastic Fest Awards – Press Releases

September 25, 2012 No Comments »

AUSTIN, Texas, Sept. 25, 2012 /PRNewswire/ – Fantastic Fest is thrilled to announce this year's Fantastic Fest Award winners.  It's a terrible task to pick favorites and single out any of the magnificent films that played at this year's festival, but our esteemed team of jurors have done the nearly impossible and chosen the best and most striking films of the festival. 


The audience awards are presented by accounting firm Maxwell Locke & Ritter (, who provided the certified tabulation of ballots this year and are the exclusive accounting sponsor of Fantastic Fest.  AMD is the presenter of the prestigious “Next Wave” Awards, which honors emerging filmmakers.  The winner of the “Next Wave” feature award is presented with an elegant AMD/Next Wave Trophy along with AMD-based computer hardware featuring the AMD Accelerated Processing Unit (APU).

AUDIENCE AWARD (Presented by Maxwell Locke & Ritter)
I Declare War (dir. Robert Wilson & Jason Lapeyre)

Best Picture: Flicker (dir. Patrik Eklund)

Best Director: Charles de Lauzirika (Crave) 

Best Screenplay: Max Porcelijn (Plan C)

Best Actor: Michael Eklund (Errors of the Human Body)

Best Actress: Alina Levshin (Combat Girls)

Best Picture: Vanishing Waves (dir. Kristina Buozyte)

Best Director: Kristina Buozyte (Vanishing Waves)

Best Screenplay: Bruno Samper, Kristina Buozyte (Vanishing Waves)

Best Actor: Rene Bitorajac (Vegetarian Cannibal)

Best Actress: Jurga Jutaite (Vanishing Waves)

Best Picture: Here Comes the Devil (dir. Adrian Garcia Bogliano)

Best Screenplay: Adrian Garcia Bogliano (Here Comes the Devil)

Best Director: Adrian Garcia Bogliano (Here Comes the Devil)

Special mention: Hajime Ohata (Henge)

Best Actor: Francisco Barreiro (Here Comes the Devil)

Best Actress: Laura Caro (Here Comes the Devil)

Special mention: Katherine Isabel (American Mary)

Best Picture: New Kids Nitro (dir. Steffen Haars & Flip Van der Kuil)

Best Director: Dario Russo (Danger 5)

Best Screenplay: John Mitchell (The History of Future Folk)

Best Actor: Chapman To (Vulgaria)

Best Actress: Rina Takeda (Dead Sushi)

Best Picture: The American Scream (dir. Michael Stephenson)

Best Director: Rodney Ascher (Room 237) 

Winner: At The Formal (Andrew Kavanagh, Australia)
Runner-up: The Sleepover (Chris Cullari, USA)

Winner: Record/Play (Jesse Atlas, USA)
Runner-up: Love – (Kaveh Nabatian, Canada)

Winner: Bendito Machine IV – (Jossie Malis, Spain)
Runner-up: Tram – (Michaela Pavlatova, Czech Republic)

For more information on the films listed above, visit

For the latest developments visit the Fantastic Fest official site and follow us on Facebook & Twitter.

For press inquiries contact:


Brandy Fons


(310) 809-8882


For Press Assets visit (must use FTP Application to access):
Password: f@ntast!c

About Fantastic Fest
Fantastic Fest is the largest genre film festival in the U.S., specializing in horror, fantasy, sci-fi, action and just plain fantastic movies from all around the world. In years past the festival has been home to world premieres of THERE WILL BE BLOOD, APOCALYPTO, ZOMBIELAND, THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE 2 and RED while the guest roster has included such talent as Mel Gibson, Bill Murray, Edward Norton, Ryan Reynolds, Karl Urban, Josh Hartnett, The RZA, Dolph Lundgren, Jemaine Clement, Paul Rudd, Bill Pullman, Paul Thomas Anderson, Kevin Smith, Jon Favreau, George Romero, Darren Aronofsky and Mike Judge. Fantastic Fest also features world, national and regional premieres of new, up-and-coming genre films.  The festival has launched and propelled the buzz for international genre hits like THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE, MONSTERS, TIMECRIMES and TROLLHUNTER.  Fantastic Fest is held each year at the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema on South Lamar in Austin, Texas. During his Keynote Address at the International Film Festival Summit, Variety president and publisher Charlie Koones listed Fantastic Fest in a list of “10 Film Festivals We Love,” alongside industry heavy-hitters such as Cannes, Toronto and Telluride.  Fantastic Fest was also named as one of the “25 coolest film festivals” and the “25 film festivals worth the entry fee” by Moviemaker Magazine.

Our Partners
Returning Presenting Sponsors for Fantastic Fest and Arcade include AMD, Well Go USA Entertainment, and Texas' own Shiner Beer, whose family of products will be featured throughout the festival. Returning hotel partners include Embassy Suites Austin Downtown, Radisson Hotel and Suites Austin Downtown, and the Intercontinental Stephen F. Austin.

New Presenting Sponsors include Sony Digital Cinema 4K, which delivers an immersive theatrical experience with ultra-high resolution digital projection technology. 

About Alamo Drafthouse
Alamo Drafthouse is an entertainment brand comprised of an acclaimed cinema-eatery chain, the largest genre film festival in the United States and a collectible art gallery. Named “the best theater ever” by Time Magazine, the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema has built a reputation as a movie lover's oasis not only by combining food and drink service with the movie-going experience, but also introducing unique programming and high-profile, star studded special events. Alamo Drafthouse Founder & CEO, Tim League, created Fantastic Fest, a world renowned film festival dubbed “The Geek Telluride” by Variety. Fantastic Fest showcases eight days of offbeat cinema from independents, international filmmakers and major Hollywood studios. The Alamo Drafthouse's collectible art gallery, Mondo, offers breathtaking, original products featuring designs from world-famous artists based on licenses for popular TV and Movie properties including Star Wars, Star Trek & Universal Monsters. The Alamo Drafthouse Cinema is expanding its brand in new and exciting ways, including the launch of Drafthouse Films, a new film distribution label and plans to extend its theaters and unique programming philosophy to additional markets across the United States. More information about Alamo Drafthouse franchise opportunities are available on the official website

SOURCE Fantastic Fest

Powered by WPeMatico

Leave A Response